मालवीय राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान जयपुर (राष्ट्रीय महत्व का संस्थान)
Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur (An Institute of National Importance)
ICC (Women Cell)

Internal Complaints Committee for Prevention, Prohibition & Redressal of sexual harassment of women at workplace

The women's cell of MNIT Jaipur was established in August 2011, in accordance with the directives of Honorable Supreme Court of India to ensure safety, security and dignity of women at workplace.


Its objectives are:
To create a congenial working environment which is free of sexual harassment or gender based discrimination for all women employees and students.
To heighten awareness and sensitivity to this important issue amongst all concerned.

Sexual Harassment Defined

According to Supreme Court Judgment on Sexual Harassment, on the case of Vishakha vs. the State of Rajasthan (August 1977), the behavior that can be considered as sexual harassment has been explicitly, legally defined as following- Sexual Harassment includes:

  1. Physical contact and advances.
  2. Demand or request for sexual favors.
  3. Sexually coloured remarks.
  4. Display of pornography.
  5. Any other unwelcome physical, verbal or nonverbal conduct of a sexual nature.

The critical factor in sexual harassment is the unwelcomeness of the behavior. Thus, it is the impact of behavior on the recipient, rather than the intent of the perpetrator which is to be considered.

Dr. Preeti Bhatt,
Department of Humanities & Social Science
MNIT Jaipur

Office memorandum
Handbook on Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace
Constitution of Women's Cell
# Name Constitution E-Mail/ Mobile Responsibility
1 Dr. Preeti Bhatt A Coordinator who shall be a woman employed at senior level at workplace amongst the employees. pbhatt.hum@mnit.ac.in
Presiding Officer
2 Professor Kanupriya Sachdev Not less than two members from amongst employees preferably committed to the cause of women or who had experience in social work or have legal knowledge. ksachdev.phy@mnit.ac.in
3 Dr. Rina Surana rsurana.arch@mnit.ac.in
4 Dr. Dipti Saxena dsaxena.ee@mnit.ac.in
5 Dr. Kavita Lalwani kavita.phy@mnit.ac.in
6 Dr. Niraja Saraswat niraja.hum@mnit.ac.in
7 Dr. K. Palpandi kpalpandi.maths@mnit.ac.in
8 Professor Damyanti Gupta (Retd)
Department of Political Science
University of Rajasthan
President, Rajasthan University Women's Association
One member from amongst non-government organizations or association committed to the cause of women or a person familiar with the issues relating to sexual harassment. guptadamyanti@yahoo.com
External Member