मालवीय राष्ट्रीय प्रौद्योगिकी संस्थान जयपुर (राष्ट्रीय महत्व का संस्थान)
Malaviya National Institute of Technology Jaipur (An Institute of National Importance)
E & ICT Academy (Phase I)


Each Electronics and ICT Academy (Phase I) would be set up by selected State Governments/UTs in collaboration with IITs, IIITs, NITs or other similar academic institutions with the help of a team of experts from Government(s), Industry and Academic institutes, as a unit in the identified institute. An existing State level Agency in each selected State/UT could be identified which could look after various aspects of the setting up of the Electronics and ICT Academy.

Contribution of Stakeholders
• Central Govt: Rs. 103.98 in five years (incl. PMU at DeitY)
• State/UT Government: NIL
• Identified IITs/IIITs/NITs, etc.: Land, building, other infrastructure, all other resources, etc. to setup the Academy
Financial & other Support

Each Electronics and ICT Academy would be provided with a funding support for refurbishment of existing premises and purchase of equipment for setting up the state-of-art labs; support for Skilling/training cost per faculty being trained; Project Management Unit & MIS. The financial support would be 100% in the first year, 75% in the second year, 50% in the third year and 25% in the fourth year. The land, building and all other resources would be contributed by respective IITs/IIITs/NITs, etc. Each Academy is expected to generate revenue by charging fee and taking up other activities from the second year onwards to meet the remaining cost in a gradual manner and become self sustainable by the end of fourth year onwards. No funding support from the Central Government is envisaged after the completion of four year project duration in respect of each Academy.


The Scheme would be in operation for 05(Five) years. Proposals would be invited from the select States/UTs in the 1st and 2nd year and each Electronics and ICT Academy would be provided with financial support for a period of 04(Four) years in a project mode.

Implementation structure
  1. Academic Council at DeitY- With Prof. Ashok Jhunjhunwala, IIT Madras as Chairman of council
  2. Advisory board at each academy (@MNITJ)- Chairman, Advisory board- Director MNIT Jaipur Academy chairperson- Prof. V. Sinha, Prof. Emeritus, ECE MIT Jaipur Eminent experts from industries, academia and research institutes
  3. Academic chairperson - Prof. V. Sinha, ECE MIT Jaipur
  4. Coordination committee- Prof. V. Sahula, chief investigator; other Co-chief investigators are Dr. L. Bhargava, Dr. C. Periasamy and Dr. S. J. Nanda from ECE and Dr. E. S. Pilli from CSE with two Heads of the department as ex-officio members- ECE and CSE
  5. Monitoring committee-
  6. Academic committee- To be formed
  7. Research committee- To be formed